Sunday, February 7, 2016

NITI Aayog

NITI Aayog

The present  various members of NITI Aayog are:

Chairperson: Prime Minister Narendra Modi

CEO: Sindhushree Khullar

Vice Chairperson: Arvind Panagariya

Ex-Officio Members: Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Suresh Prabhu and Radha Mohan Singh Special Invitees: Nitin Gadkari, Smriti Zubin Irani and Thawar Chand Gehlot

Full-time Members: Bibek Debroy (Economist), V. K. Saraswat (former DRDO Chief) and Ramesh Chand (Agriculture Expert)

Governing Council: All Chief Ministers and Lieutenant Governors of States and Union Territories


  1. Think tank for Government policy formulation.
  2. Find best practices from other countries
  3. Cooperative Federalism: Involve state governments and even villages in planning process.
  4. Sustainable development:  Zero defect-zero effect (on environment) manufacturing 
  5. Urban Development: to ensure cities can remain habitable and provide economic venues to everyone.
  6. Participatory Development: with help of private sector and citizens.
  7. Inclusive Development or Antyodaya. Ensure SC, ST and Women too enjoy the fruits of Development. 
  8. Poverty elimination to ensure dignity and self-respect.
  9. Focus on 5 crore Small enterprises– to generate more employment for weaker sections.
  10. Monitoring and feedback.
  11. Make policies to reap demographic dividend and social capital.
  12. Regional Councils will address specific “issues” for a group of states
  13. Extract maximum benefit from NRI’s geo-economic and Geo-political strength for India’s Development.
  14. Use Social media and ICT tools to ensure transparency, accountability and good governance.
  15. Help sorting inter-departmental conflicts.
  16.  ideas about national self-interest, capacity-building, participating in ‘global-village’ etc.

No comments:

Post a Comment